Luxury Norfolk Holiday Cottages

Rookery Park Golf Club

 

Rookery Park Golf Club

Distance from Wheatacre Hall Barns − 13 miles

There is historical evidence that the game of golf was played in Lowestoft before 1891 according to a book chronicling the history of the Lowestoft and Rookery Park Golf Clubs.

The Club moved from its original home, The Denes, to Pakefield in 1906 and finally to its present home at Carlton Colville in 1975. The name was changed to Rookery Park Golf Club, the name coming from the farm on which the course was built.

The course, a challenging 6714 yards off the competition tees, was designed by Mr C D Lawrie, a top architect who was also an advisor to the Royal and Ancient Championship Committee.

The par 72 course has four par 5's and four par 3's. The longest hole on the course is the 550 yard fifth; the shortest the 138 yard ninth.

Every hole presents a unique challenge to golfers of varying levels of ability.

Look out for the eighth hole, (stroke index 1), probably the most interesting hole on the course; most certainly the biggest challenge as indicated by its index. From the elevated tee you will have a downhill drive with a 90 degree left hand turn at about 200 yards; mature trees to the left, pond to the right and 454 yards to the flag. It's a great hole!